h1

Event: Canada Reads Poetry

April 8, 2011

Last fall, during the annual “fiction love-in” that is Canada Reads on CBC, I complained that poetry wasn’t part of the equation there and the National Post called to ask if I’d be interested in doing a sort of shadow contest called “Canada Reads Poetry“. Well, it took a few months more, but it’s now coming to a head at the Post for National Poetry Month.

I’m defending Dionne Brand’s Inventory against a  bizarrely high-class level of other books and jurors. I think Inventory is one of the most salient, important books of the last 25 years, so I feel confident going in, but I’m also fully aware I’m up against four other very good readers defending four other very good books! Should be exciting.

Normally I wouldn’t join this kind of thing, but I actually like the Post’s books coverage and, having complained publically, and more, having been heard, I think it’s time for me to step up and do my bit. Look for my essay at the Afterword in the coming weeks.

2 comments

  1. I’m so happy I got to hear you today on CBC The Next Chapter with Shelagh. What is the address of your new poetry site?



Leave a Reply

